Wednesday, October 28, 2009

~Waiting On Wednesday~

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

I don't read historical fiction....It's just not my cup of tea. However, I came across this book while browsing on Amazon.com, and it sounds like something I would enjoy......

The Book Of Fires: A Novel by Jane Borodale

Product Description

Reminiscent of Year of Wonders, a captivating debut novel of fireworks, fortune, and a young woman's redemption

It is 1752 and seventeen-year-old Agnes Trussel arrives in London pregnant with an unwanted child. Lost and frightened, she finds herself at the home of Mr. J. Blacklock, a brooding fireworks maker who hires Agnes as an apprentice. As she learns to make rockets, portfires, and fiery rain, she slowly gains his trust and joins his quest to make the most spectacular fireworks the world has ever seen.

Jane Borodale offers a masterful portrayal of a relationship as mysterious and tempestuous as any the Bront√ęs conceived. Her portrait of 1750s London is unforgettable, from the grimy streets to the inner workings of a household where little is as it seems. Through it all, the clock is ticking, for Agnes's secret will not stay secret forever.

Deeply atmospheric and intimately told from Agnes's perspective, The Book of Fires will appeal to readers of Geraldine Brooks, Sarah Waters, Sheri Holman, and Michel Faber.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Viking Adult (January 21, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0670021067
  • ISBN-13: 978-0670021062
What are YOU waiting for today?




8 comments:

Diane said...

This one does sound good Missy. Hey, BTW: I love your new header --very nice.

Wanda said...

I don't read a great deal of historical fiction but this one does sound intriguing.

Darling new header, love it!

Sandra said...

This sounds like a wonderful story, I look forward to your thoughts on it. And your header is lovely.

Crystal said...

This sounds like an excellent book - I'll have to add it to my list.

vvb32 reads said...

i like this london setting and time period so this definitely catches my interest. thanks.

Mary said...

It really does sound interesting!

Booklogged said...

I like Geraldine Brooks and historical fiction. Sounds like a match for this reader.

Amy said...

This sounds really interesting and just a little bit different than many of the other books out there.

Great find!

LinkWithin

Blog Widget by LinkWithin
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs Enchanted Neighborhood kit by Irene Alexeeva