Monday, July 6, 2009

~Mailbox Monday~ 7/6/09






I received 4 books last week!




Prairie Tale by Melissa Gilbert

Waking Lazarus by T. L. Hines:
~Jude Allman has died and come back to life three times, becoming a celebrity despite his best effor
ts to go unnoticed. When the world crushes in around this miracle man, this modern-day Lazarus, he chooses to vanish into the vastness of Montana. He changes his name and withdraws from the public eye, trying to forget all that came before. But the past, like Jude, won't stay buried.
A prowling evil circles his adopted hometown of Red Lodge, Montana. Children are disappearing - and Jude may have the key to solving the crimes, hidden inside the mysteries of his own deaths. His days as a recluse are over, and now he must face the questions that have haunted him for years. What if his resurrections aren't merely accidents? what is there's are reason behind it all? What if he's been brought back for just this moment?

Replay by Ken Grimwood:
~A time-travel classic in the tradition of Jack Finney's Time and Time Again, Ken Grimwood's acclaimed novel Replay asks the provocative question: "What if you could live your life over again, knowing the mistakes you'd make before?" Forty-three year old Jeff Winston gets several chances to do just that. Trapped in a tepid marriage and dead-end job, he dies in 1988 and wakes up to find himself in 1963, at the age of eighteen, staring at his dorm room walls at Emory University. It's all the same...but different: Jeff knows what the future holds. He knows who will win every World Series...every Kentucky Derby...even how to win on Wall Street. One thing he doesn't know is: Why has he been chosed to replay his life? And how many times must he win - and lose - everything he loves? Winner of the 1988 World Fantasy Award for best novel and published in eleven languages, Replay unravels the answers in a masterful skein that captivates our imagination.

Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen
:
~Halley and Scarlett have been best friends ever since they met. Halley has always been the quiet one; Scarlett braver and more outgoing. Halley has always turned to Scarlett when things get rough, and Scarlett has always known what to do. It's the perfect set-up. But everything changes at the beginning of their junior year. Scarlett's boyfriend is killed in a motorcycle accident; then she finds out that she is carrying his baby. For the first time ever, Scarlett really needs Halley. Now Halley has to learn how to be strong for Scarlett. It won't be easy, but Halley knows that she can't let Scarlett down. Because a true friend is a promise you keep forever.

What was in YOUR mailbox this week!






15 comments:

Blodeuedd said...

Fun mailbox you got :)
Enjoy your books

Cindy said...

You got some pretty good books. I am hoping to get Melissa Gilberts book. That should be a fun read. Looking forward to your review on it.

My MM is HERE

gautami tripathy said...

I loved reading T L Hines The Unseen. A great book!

Jess said...

Hi Missy,
Barney's Online Book Club is discussing Molly Marx on July 27 -- I would love it if you would join the discussion!

jess
barney's book blog

Mary said...

Looks like you got some good books last week!

Yvonne said...

The Melissa Gilbert book sounds good. Enjoy!

Scrap girl said...

I definitely want to read Melissa Gilbert's book. Waking Lazarus looks fabulous too.

♔ jessica.marie said...

What a wonderful variety of books this week! Sarah Dessen is one of my favorite authors, I hope you enjoy reading all of them!

Cathy said...

I enjoyed Replay, and I hope you do, too!

avisannschild said...

Enjoy your books!

Jo-Jo said...

These look like some great books...I love the cover of Someone Like You.

Dar said...

I just picked up Prairie Tale for my mom the other day. I'm anxious to see what you think of it.

Wendi B. - Wendi's Book Corner ~ Rainy Day Reads in Seattle said...

I love the cover of Someone Like You! Here's my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

Gwendolyn B. said...

I mentioned on another blog that I don't care if the Melissa Gilbert book gets good or bad reviews -- I just HAVE to read it! But I am interested to know what you think of it!

Anna said...

Looks like you had a great week. Enjoy your new books!

--Anna
Diary of an Eccentric

LinkWithin

Blog Widget by LinkWithin
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs Enchanted Neighborhood kit by Irene Alexeeva