Saturday, March 20, 2010

On My Wishlist #1



On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It's where you can list all the books that you desperately want but haven't actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

This is my first time participating in this meme.....I have so many wish list books! I'd love to share some of them with you.

The Visibles by Sara Shepard
published: May 5th 2009 by Free Press
Hardcover, 304 pages
isbn: 1416597360 (isbn13: 9781416597360)



From Goodreads:
In her tightly constructed and captivating first adult novel, bestselling YA author Shepard (the Pretty Little Liars series) explores a family’s biological and emotional interconnectedness—for better or for worse. When 15-year-old Summer Davis is told by a substitute biology teacher that “DNA makes up everything inside you,” and that “nothing else matters... you can’t escape your parents and they can’t escape you,” the silken threads that she imagines link her to her vanished mother become something more like shackles and chains as her mentally ill father’s slow decay continues and eventually lands him in an institution. Summer clings to the hope that her father will get better while simultaneously experimenting with ways to escape the gloomy life she’s inherited; her path eventually leads to the genetics lab at NYU, but the opportunity to pursue her own dreams is undermined by her father, whose deeply hidden secrets begin to trickle out and eat away at the family’s foundation. It’s complicated, rewarding and full of heart, and Shepard creates a rich reading experience in shying from simple answers and happy endings.

Chasing Demons by Christy Tillery French
published: August 25th 2003 by Mystery and Suspense Press
Paperback, 194 pages
isbn: 0595291236 (isbn13: 9780595291236)

For 12 years, Kendra Salvatori has lived under the dominion of her abusive husband, Tony, head of a small but powerful criminal organization in the Southeast. When she loses her unborn baby at the hands of her husband, Kendra flees to Black Mountain, NC, where she collapses in the barn of retired hostage negotiator, Garth Fisher. Garth, who has been living in seclusion while trying to deal with a tragic past mistake, seeks redemption by vowing to protect Kendra from her ultimate fate when her raging husband finds her. Together, the two unite to face their demons through their love for one another and their fierce passion to remain together.

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
Hardcover:
288 pages
Publisher:
Dial; 1 edition (March 9, 2010)
Language:
English
ISBN-10:
0803734956
ISBN-13:
978-0803734951

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey
dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in
town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

12 comments:

dArLyN said...

both of the books sound really good ;p

Blodeuedd said...

That first one sounds interesting :D

Lori said...

Chasing Demons looks interesting. The other ones don't appeal to me as much. I hope that you will enjoy your books, when you get them. Here's mine.

Natalie W said...

Oh I knew I shouldn't have read your post! Adding way to many books to my own wishlist LOL!

chrissie_goldsmith said...

Great wishlist! I hope you manage to get your hands on them soon :)

www.chrissiescorner.co.uk

Creations by Laurel-Rain Snow said...

These look good, Missy! The Visibles really caught my attention; and Chasing Demons will be awesome, I'm sure, since I've enjoyed Christy Tillery French's Bodyguard books.

Thanks for sharing this meme! I had never seen it before.

Here's my wish list:

http://embracethewhirlwind.wordpress.com/2010/03/20/on-my-wish-list/

Mama Bookworm said...

I want to read The Sky is Every Where too!

ck.twilighter (Chasity) said...

Aloha!!!

Me to... my first post!=)

I marked Chasing Demons by Christy Tillery French on my TBR list! Thank you. that one sounds great!!=)



Here is mine:
http://lll808.blogspot.com/2010/03/on-my-wishlist-1.html

Shera (Book Whispers) said...

I love your blog colors, so beautiful. Those are some great books.

Cindy said...

I found your blog through the book blogger hop and I'm now I'm a follower!!!

Diane said...

I read The Visibles; liked it but did not love it. I'll be curious to see what you think.

Vicki said...

All three look interesting!

LinkWithin

Blog Widget by LinkWithin
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs Enchanted Neighborhood kit by Irene Alexeeva