Wednesday, April 22, 2009

~BOOK PREVIEW~ The Last Bridge by Terri Coyne



Publisher: Ballantine Books (July 21, 2009) Hardcover: 240 pages ISBN-10: 0345507312

I received an ARC copy of this book through LibraryThing.com's Early Reviewers.

Product Description from Amazon.com: For fans of Jodi Picoult and Sue Miller, a dark, edgy, page-turning debut about the lengths one woman will travel to escape her past After a ten-year absence, Alex “Cat” Rucker returns to her Ohio hometown because of a letter left on her mother’s kitchen table—a suicide note, carefully preserved in a Ziploc® bag, that reads: “He isn’t who you think he is. Love, Mom” Thus opens this stunning debut novel from author Teri Coyne, who, with wry humor and sharp wit, follows Alex’s journey through the traumatic experiences of her youth and the haze of her adult life. While Alex tries to repress the memories of her brutal childhood—an abusive father, her estranged (and possibly illegitimate) brother, and the first love who would do anything to save her—she must face just how shattered she still is. At each step Alex confronts her biggest fears, realizes the impact of her choices, and inches closer to redemption. Can she embrace her vulnerabilities, talents, and desire for love, or will the revelations of her mother’s cryptic note prove too overwhelming for her to bear? The Last Bridge is a perfect blend of suspense, despair, and romance—and at its heart lies the question: are we a product of our experiences or our choices?
Many thanks to Kathleen at Random House publishing for sending me this book.

1 comment:

Scattie said...

ooh , this sounds really interesting! Not my usual type of book, but this sounds really good!

LinkWithin

Blog Widget by LinkWithin
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs Enchanted Neighborhood kit by Irene Alexeeva